IEC Announces Winners of 2018 Apprentice of the Year Competition

Press Release ( - ALEXANDRIA, Va. - Sep 27, 2018 - The Independent Electrical Contractors (IEC) hosted the 2018 Apprentice of the Year competition during its IEC Convention & Expo 2018, September 19-22 in Indianapolis, IN.

Each year, the IEC National Apprentice of the Year Competition places the top graduates from IEC chapter apprentice training programs across the country in head-to-head competition for prizes and recognition as the IEC National Apprentice of the Year. The winner of the 2018 Apprentice of the Year competition is Mike Lempka from Good Electric Service, IEC Rocky Mountain. Grant Evans from King’s Electric Services, IEC of Greater Cincinnati and Nathan Devine from JMEG, IEC San Antonio finished in second and third place, respectively.

During the competition, contestants:

  • Took a written exam to evaluate their knowledge of electrical theory, code, materials, and installation practices.
  •  Prepared a motor logic diagram based on a written description of a field application.
  • Demonstrated their skills in bending metallic electrical tubing.
  • Demonstrated their troubleshooting skills by accurately diagnosing a fault in a common piece of electrical equipment.
  • Demonstrated their job-site productivity by participating in a speed exercise in which they will install common electrical circuitry.
  • Accurately installed electrical distribution and control circuitry utilizing customer supplied materials, circuit descriptions, specifications, and control diagrams.
  • Demonstrated their knowledge of safe work practices

This year, 21 contestants participated in the competition. The 2018 IEC National Apprentice of the Year Competition contestants were:

Cory Blair, IEC of Kentucky & Southern Illinois; Timothy Breckenridge, IEC of Southern Colorado; Sean Chandler, IEC Oregon; Michael Colter, IEC of Greater St. Louis; Garrett Cooper, IEC Dakotas; Matthew Creeger, IEC Central Ohio; Nathan Devine, IEC San Antonio; Grant Evans, IEC of Greater Cincinnati; Bradley Hamilton, IEC Arizona; Michael Hermann, IEC Montana; Thomas Kile, IEC Fort Worth/Tarrant County; Kade Krahenbuhl, IEC Utah; Mike Lempka, IEC Rocky Mountain; Alexander Maxfield, IEC Florida West Coast; Kenneth Milburn, IEC Texas Gulf Coast; Ryan Moore, Centex IEC; John Powers, IEC Dallas; Anthony Sarago, Central Pennsylvania Chapter IEC; Reno Sifuentes, IEC El Paso; Patrick Smith, IEC-OKC; Babak Yaghikosh, IEC Atlanta.

For more information on the competition visit,

About IEC

IEC National is a nonprofit trade association federation with 52 educational campuses and affiliate IEC local chapters across the country.  IEC represents over 3,300-member businesses throughout the United States and educates nearly 12,000 electricians and systems professionals each year through world-class training programs.  IEC contractor member companies are responsible for over $8.5B in gross revenue annually and are composed of some of the premier firms in the industry. 


Source : Independent Electrical Contractors (IEC)

You may also like this  

CATEGORIES : Electrical


Or using ePRNews Account

Don't have an account ? Sign Up

Register New Account

Or Signup using Email

Already have an account ? Login

Reset Password

Already have an account ? Login


If you have any concerns regarding this press release, please contact the Author / Media Contact / Business of this press release. ePRNews is not resposible for the accuracy of the news posted and do not endorse, support any product/ services/ business mentioned and hereby disclaims any content contained in this press release.