Winners Announced at the 17th Annual Native American Music Awards

Winners Announced at the 17th Annual Native American Music Awards
WWE's Mickie James Inducted Into The Hall of Fame Josh Halverson and Northern Cree Take Two Awards Each The Revenant's Arthur Redcloud Receives Honorary Award for Excellence

Press Release ( - NEW YORK - Oct 26, 2017 - 17th Annual Native American Music Awards


The 17th Annual Native American Music Awards was an evening filled with love and inspiration from some of the biggest celebrities, musicians and actors in the fields of music and entertainment.

Highly dynamic and energetic music performances along with encouraging words of inspiration  dominated the evening from; WWE Superstar and SMG Recording artist, Mickie James, Multiple Award winner and The Voice finalist, Josh Halverson, to Nahko Bear who is kicking off his international tour this week, among others.

Opening the show was the award winning Powwow drum group, Northern Cree, who gave a powerful vocal and hand drum performance. The group was then joined by DJ Shub and his dubstep influenced dance and electronica which took the entire segment from traditional into the future.  Northern Cree won for Best Powwow Recording and shared their second win with DJ Shub for Best Music Video for the song, “Indomitable’ which was presented remotely by MTV’s Downtown Julie Brown.

Mickie James was inducted into the Native American Music Hall of Fame, by actor Arthur Redcloud who appeared in the movie, The Revenant, with Leonardo DiCaprio. James told the audience, “You don’t come with your destiny….You earn it” as she shared her story of success.  She also won for Single of the Year for “Shooting Blanks” and performed live belting out three powerful songs including her hit song, “Somebody’s Gonna Pay.” Redcloud received an Honorary Award for Excellence for his role in The Revenant.

Presenting the Artist of the Year Award was Felipe Rose, original member of the Village People, who was joined by his group from a live remote, and presented Josh Halverson with the award.Halverson, a previous award winner from 2013, acknowledged the awards first supported him before anyone else including The Voice, and encouraged the audience to offer “love first.”  Rose hosted the Awards’ pre-show Red Carpet event. Halverson also took home Best Folk Recording.

Nahko, who gave a stellar and moving solo acoustic performance received Record of the Year for vocnb his recording, Hoka which he released with Medicine for the People.  He is about to release a new recording entitled, Nahko, My Name Is Bear on October 20th.

Kelly Derrickson, took the evening’s Best Female Artist award and performed two songs including the uplifting “Rise Up”. Brothers Lil Mike and Funny Bone who won Group of the Year in 2016 and were contestants on America’s Got Talent, gave a special performance which included their hit single, “Do The Rain Dance”.  The brothers later joined Lifetime Achievement recipient, Gary Farmer, and the Troublemakers featuring previous award winners, Marc Brown and Derek Miller,  for a closing performance. Former Mrs. Universe, Ashley Callingbull presented Farmer with his award who has over 100 movie and television credits.

Awarded for Debut Artist of the Year, was the incredibly talented, 17-year old Lucas Ciliberti. The drum group, Black Bear Brothers accepted Debut Group of the Year along with twelve young children from the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota.

Other award winners in attendance include; Artson for Best Music Video Narrative, Conrad Benally for Best Male Artist, James Edmund Greeley for Best Traditional Recording, Jan Michael Looking Wolf for Best Music Video Performance, Randy McGinnis for Flutist of the Year, Sten Joddi for Best Rap Hip Hop Recording, Bearheart Kokopelli who came in from Austria to receive the Native Heart Recording.

Over 18,500 individual voters participated in the Award’s national voting campaign. The awards were emceed by National Indian Gaming Association’s Ernie Stevens Jr. and were broadcast live by WGWE radio and streamed live by Plans for rebroadcasts are underway.

The Native American Music Awards proudly congratulates all the Award winners.


Artist of the Year
Josh Halverson
“Year of the Thunderbird”

Debut Artist of the Year
Lucas Ciliberti

Debut Group of the Year
Black Bear Brothers
“Songs from Cheyenne Creek”

Best Female Artist
Kelly Derrickson
“I Am”

Flutist of the Year
Randy McGinnis
“The Journey  – hi a vi si i”

Group of the Year
The Cody Blackbird Band
“Live From Chicago”

Best Male Artist
Conrad Benally
“Always And Forever”

Record of the Year
Nahko and Medicine For The People

Song of the Year
“Shooting Blanks”
Mickie James

Best Music Video
DJ Shub  &  Northern Cree Singers

Best Music Video For A Performance
Jan Michael Looking Wolf Band

Best Music Video For A Narrative
“Never Give Up”
Artson, Supaman & Quese Imc

Native Heart
Bearheart Kokopelli
Bernhard Mikuskovics (3rd from left)
“Native Heart”

Best Country Recording
“You’ve Got to Go Back the Way That You Came”
Danielle Egnew

Best Folk Recording
“Year of the Thunderbird”
Josh Halverson

Best Gospel/Inspirational
“Awake, Arise and Shine”
Callie Bennett

Best Instrumental Recording
“Songs of the Earth”
Vince Redhouse

Best Native American Church Recording
Cheevers Toppah

Best Pop Recording
Cherokee National Youth Choir

Best Pow Wow Recording
“It’s A Cree Thing”
Northern Cree

Best Rap/Hip Hop/R&B Recording
“The 7th Generation Prophecy”
Sten Joddi

Best Rock / Best Blues Recording
“Take Me Back”
Levi Platero

Best Traditional Recording
“Before America” James Edmund Greeley

Best Waila Recording
“Creed and Culture”
Native Creed

Lifetime Achievement Award
Gary Farmer

Honorary Award of Excellence
Arthur Redcloud

Hall of Fame
Mickie James

Source : Native American Music Awards & Association

You may also like this  



Or using ePRNews Account

Don't have an account ? Sign Up

Register New Account

Or Signup using Email

Already have an account ? Login

Reset Password

Already have an account ? Login


If you have any concerns regarding this press release, please contact the Author / Media Contact / Business of this press release. ePRNews is not resposible for the accuracy of the news posted and do not endorse, support any product/ services/ business mentioned and hereby disclaims any content contained in this press release.